Wednesday, August 28, 2013

CMIT to host TRAS Implementation Internet Broadcast

The Correctional Management Institute of Texas will host an interactive broadcast reviewing and discussing assessment implementation, barriers for successful implementation and strategies for implementation, depending on the size of the department. Look for this special notice so you can actively ask questions and help shape the broadcast to your needs. Carey Welebob, Director of CJAD will moderate the panel. Panelist include Dr. Teresa May and Dr. Brian Lovins from Harris County CSCD, Terry Easterling of Potter County, Roxane Marek of Matagorda County CSCD, and Chris Thomas of Jasper County CSCD.

To register, visit HERE

Tuesday, August 13, 2013

Leadership Academy Welcomes First Cohort

Photo of the inaugural cohort of SHSU High Potential Leadership Academy, including members from TDCJ
The inaugural cohort of SHSU's High Potential Leadership Academy comprises employees from the Texas Department of Criminal Justice, Huntsville Memorial Hospital and Sam Houston State. Those selected by their administrations to participate this year include, (first row, from the left) from TDCJ, Leonard Echessa, Eric Guerrero, Christopher Carter, Bobby Lumpkin, Charlotte Anderson, Jennifer Gonzales, (second row, from the left) from HMH, with HMH CEO Shannon Brown, Andrea Harris, Sheila Ard, Calli Dretke, Amanda Wheeler, Raul Velez, Jason Loftin; and, (top row, from the left), from SHSU, Jacqui Wukich, Lee Miller, Maria Busby, Angie Taylor, Charlie Vienne and Ryan Zapalac.

Eighteen Sam Houston State University, Texas Department of Criminal Justice and Huntsville Memorial Hospital employees will spend the next nine months developing their leadership potential as the first cohort of SHSU’s High Potential Employee Leadership Academy.

The cohort was welcomed into the academy by their respective leaders and academy facilitator David Yebra during the group’s orientation on Aug. 9. The first full meeting for the monthly development sessions will be Sept. 19.

This year’s participants include, from SHSU, Maria Busby, Lee Miller, Angie Taylor, Charlie Vienne, Jacqui Wukich and Ryan Zapalac; from HMH Calli Dretke, Andrea Harris, Sheila Hogue-Ard, Jason Loftin, Amanda Wheeler and Raul Velez; and from TDCJ, Charlotte Anderson, Christopher Carter, Leonard Echessa, Jennifer Gonzales, Eric Guerrero and Bobby Lumpkin.

Participants were hand-selected by their employers for their potential as future leaders within their fields. . . . Read more . . .